Being pansexual is something I never really saw coming and I can say it’s been a pretty weird experience. It turned out I was not alone. Being pansexual in today’s society and especially in our generation doesn’t seem common but to my surprise, I found out that pansexuality is a massive part of the LGBTQ+ Community.

At first, I felt very stuck and confused about the whole thing and I had to consider so many possibilities. Let myself cry at night, during the day, sometimes during class. It was all too much but what could I do. This is who I am. I went through that “decision” phase which all of us seem to go through. Always asking, “Why? Why am I choosing this? Does this suit me?”
It never came down to simply just one moment of decision but rather a chain of many moments leading to that single moment. I just went, “Okay, this is who I am,” and I stuck with it. I felt comfortable like that.
Finding friends within the whole community is always odd and very difficult because it comes with finding out who will be the people that accept me as me. Tumblr was the first place I thought of because they love gays; more than gays love gays. Instagram was also a good place to start because it has a massive platform for interacting with people who are just like you in their own unique way. What surprised me though, was the fact that I found out in one week that two of my friends were both pansexual. It’s a very weird thing to go through – finding people who are similar to me – and it is a very beautiful thing because it gives me security and safety within the presence of these people. It definitely makes me know that I’m not alone and that I’m loved.
Being pansexual is something very out of the ordinary. You technically like everyone. No matter what they identify as, thus, giving you the ability to love everyone. Quite a funny concept to explain to people. Being pansexual is something I see very common in our generation mainly because it gives us the opportunity to love everyone regardless of what they identify as.  We don’t feel limited. It’s allowing yourself the freedom and at the same time giving everyone the opportunity to fall in love with you. That’s the thing with our generation; we don’t want to be stuck with the social norms the rest of our lives. We don’t want that “It’s either left or right” instead, we carve our own paths and have visions we were told we couldn’t have. Taking that extra leap forward. We simply refuse to be “normal”. That just isn’t our thing.
Sexuality is something that seems to be very accepted within our generation. You will never hear of a generation that has loved its people more than we do. We embrace it with our hearts. Put our souls into it. Love it like it was never an issue 50 years ago. You will always find an older person somewhere in the world who embraces it just as much as we do. We find it so beautiful and it is amazing to see so much diversity with us. It’s not one group of people doing it, but anyone who is anyone is allowed to be themselves in this generation. It such a wonderful thing to see around the world. Everyone coming together and simply loving each other the way we are. That’s how it is supposed to be.

Happiness always,

Lesego Ndlovu

